All · DIY - Give It A Try

Layered Paper Cut-Out Card DIY | 3D Card | Lizzy’s Landscapes

I’ve always loved hand making cards for people I care about and recently, I’ve been really been loving creating 3-Dimensional Cards by cutting out different layers of paper that show one in front of the other to create a unique image. Read on to see how I made this happen and to grab some free SVG templates to make one for yourself!

I start out by brainstorming what I’d like my general image to look like and what feel I’d like to give it.

Recently I’ve been making wedding cards, but I’m taking a break from that for a little bit, so I decided to make my next card a little spooky. I still want to have a cute feel, so I figured what better way than a Jack-O-Lantern?

I like designing at a 6″ x 6″ square for the card, but any size will do.

The way that I make sure I have everything scaled correctly is by designing my layers on the same size digital canvas and including the same size frame around every image.

Now that I have my concept, it’s time to create my SVG templates to cut out:

WHITE as my very back layer and base

BLUE/BLACK as my next layer to be the sky (this way I can have holes in the black to show the white through as stars and a moon)

GRAY as my next layer to create a hill and background

BLUE/GRAY as my next layer to create some trees and additional hills

BROWN as my next layer of some mid-ground trees

GREEN as my next layer for some mid-ground greenery and some stem accents

YELLOW as my next layer for the glow from within my pumpkin

ORANGE as my next layer for the pumpkin

BROWN as my second to last layer as some pumpkin shading and my stem

GREEN finally as grass in the foreground

Next, I use a paper cutting machine to cut out my layers, but it can absolutely be done by hand. I put these PNG images into my cutting machine program and use the system to convert to the SVG it needs.

Once I have all the pieces cut out in the shades of paper I like, I use acid-free foam stickers placed between each layer on all 4 corners and some toward the middle of the paper to ensure there is no dipping or buckling of layers and……

Voila!

^^ don’t forget to click to pin to share with a friend or save for later!

Have you ever made a layered paper card? Let me know if you give this a try @lizzyslandscapes – I love to hear from you. Until next time, Happy Monday, Friend!

One thought on “Layered Paper Cut-Out Card DIY | 3D Card | Lizzy’s Landscapes

Leave a comment