All · DIY - Give It A Try

Distant Thanksgiving Wordsearch How-To | Lizzy’s Landscapes

This year, Thanksgiving is going to be a little different than I’m used to. I am dropped off a couple of gift boxes earlier this week to people I care about, in order for them to have a nice surprise and treat since were not able to gather. But, I wanted to create another activity that can be done distantly… So I decided to create a word search. Because I’m making this word search myself, I’m able to put in words I want people to find, this can be fun in order to put peoples names, inside jokes, or different things that might be special… Read on to see how I did it!

I decided to make the super basic, where I didn’t need to use any special software, or any kind of program. Just me with my tablet and a graded sheet of paper. This can be done on an actual sheet of paper and then scanned into a computer or a picture taken on a cell phone… I wanted to make this as accessible as possible.

Because of Thanksgiving, I decided to start with the shape of a pumpkin. I wanted my wordsearch to fit within the pumpkin itself

Once I had my pumpkin shape, I decided to start adding in my words. I use the grid to help me make sure that my words would stay aligned, and I added only the words that I wanted at this point. I did not concern myself with filling in the entire pumpkin, nor did I worry about any other letters. I tried to keep this wordsearch specific to Thanksgiving, celebrating, and puzzles… that way, you can grab a copy for yourself!

After I had all of the letters that I wanted in my pumpkin, I decided to start adding in random letters. I tried to mimic some of the words I was using, but towards the end I just started writing the alphabet randomly. I wanted to make sure that I had a good variety of words, and I tried my best to make sure that I wasn’t spelling additional words I added letters. My best intention is to have only the words I’d like people to find in my wordsearch.

Once this was done, I made sure to make a key at the bottom of my pumpkin situation so that other people would be able to find the words that I want them to.

Because I’m working digitally, it was at this time that I took away my credit background, and decided to add a colorful Watercolor blur

^^ don’t forget to click to pin to say for yourself, or share with someone who you think will enjoy!

I hope you have a safe and healthy Thanksgiving. Whether you are with your immediate family, or by yourself, please know that you’re not alone. I’m thinking of each and everyone of you, I’m so thankful that you decided to stop by and read this on my blog. Feel free to come say hi on social media @lizzyslandscapes. Until next post, happy Monday, friend!

Leave a comment