All · DIY - Give It A Try

Digital Repeating Background DIY

Sometimes after a never ending day, a good DIY can help bring some common clarity. So, what better way than a never ending leave his background image!? I did a pumpkin version with pen on paper a couple years ago. If you’ve been following along at the blog you may remember… If not no worries, I’ve got you! You look here to check it out. Otherwise, feel free to see how I made one digitally:

We started by opening a Designing app on my tablet. There are plenty available, and a lot for free. I love a good free app when I can get one. The most important thing that the app that you use needs to have is the ability to use layers.

I started off by creating a cross haired + in the middle of my canvas. This allows me the ability to see where the center lines are both vertically and horizontally. Along these lines, I create my leafy pattern. Then, once my leaves are created in this +, I make enough layers so that where each of the blocks meets the center of the two axes making the +, these now become the outside corners.

Because the four corners are now made out of the + intersection, I know that all of my box will not fit together. Since I have a blank center, I go ahead and fill in with different layers of leaves, decorate them… And of course, add some color!

Feel free to head over to Instagram @lizzyslandscapes to grab a screenshot of this background for yourself!

^^ Also, don’t forget to click to pin this to save it for yourself or share with a friend

What would you use this method of repeating background to create? Would you use one item repeating forever? Or do a bunch of different designs? The world is your oyster… So make sure to tag me @lizzyslandscapes if you give this a shot! Happy Monday, friend!

One thought on “Digital Repeating Background DIY

Leave a comment