All · Bullet Journaling · DIY - Give It A Try

DIY Bullet Journal Watercolor Background with Markers | Bujo Hack

Have you ever been searching Pinterest or scrolling through your social media feed and seen beautiful bullet journal spreads filled with effortless watercolor beauty? I have. But most of the time I only bring my marker case with me when I’m on the go, rather than a full watercolor set. I *accidentally* figured out a hack that makes your regular water based markers look like gorgeous watercolors.

Here’s how I began

I started out with a blank page in my journal and actually used tape to keep my pages level while I worked.

20170714_091323

PROTIP: If your tape is really sticky or you are worried about it ripping your pages, you can stick the tape on a piece of fabric to lessen the stick before sticking it to the paper.

Once I had a flat surface to work with (that wouldn’t be bubbling with the addition of water), I took a sticky note and covered it in packaging tape to make a surface that would resist my markers.

20170714_091415

Next, I scribbled the colors I wanted to use on the packaging tape sticky note.

20170714_093258

Once I had my ink on the tape ready to go, I dampened my page with water (I applied my water with a damp tissue to avoid over-soaking my page).

20170714_093359

Then, I pressed the packaging tape sticky note with marker side down and gently but firmly pressed and twisted it until the marker came off.

20170714_093426

PROTIP: You can do the same steps without wetting your paper for a more textured look.

Now to decorate!!

Before I started designing what would go on top of my new watercolor artwork, I decided to photocopy the design to allow myself the option to use it as the back of a card or as an additional accent on a journal page.

4 watercolor.png

Pin this image ^^ to share the idea or save it for yourself later!

Leave a Reply

