All · DIY - Give It A Try · Lettering Life

Painting with Sharpie Markers?

Have you ever thought to yourself –

  • Gee, I love doodling with sharpies, but I wish I could use them like watercolors…
  • Hmm, I wish that I had a way to watercolor on this cardboard book cover that wouldn’t run or get destroyed if I spill on it…
  • Huh,  I’ve never thought about either of those things, but now that I read this, I’m curious…

Let’s get to it!

How did I begin?

Materials:

  • Sharpie or other alcohol based/water resistant permanent marker

20170323_112017.jpg

  • Rubbing Alcohol
  • Paintbrush you’re not in love with (mine got stained)
  • A piece of plastic to write on (I used an old tupperware lid, but you could use even a plastic bag with something sturdy inside)
  • 20170323_111948.jpg

  • Thick paper like cardstock, watercolor paper, multimedia paper or cardboard

20170323_111923.jpg

From here, I drew on the plastic with the sharpie and dipped my paintbrush in the rubbing alcohol to pick up the sharpie off the plastic and painted like you would with watercolors. 

Let me know how it goes if you try it out!

Leave a Reply

