All · Fine Art

Creative Must Have’s | Best Practices | Creativity and Productivity

If you could narrow down the three things you absolutely need to create at your best level. What would those things be? I had a great time thinking about this today!

30 Days of Blogging Day 14

The first thing that I can think is applicable in the most activities that I do, although not all, is a good eraser. Although I don’t always use pencil on paper, when I work on digital editing or even working on a post for social media – editing and being able to have multiple attempts i.e. a good eraser or ability to try, try again allows me to have the most successful end result. I feel like having the ability to create, adjust, erase, and create better is what makes that a must have.

On a similar note, the second thing that I feel is applicable with my creative best practices are having studies. A study for me is a test or a sketch that allows me to test out ideas before I begin or finalize my end product. Whether this is a figure study, color study or just doodles about an idea in my bullet journal, preparation for the execution of an idea can be the difference between “okay” and something I’m proud of.

Lastly, I’m thinking that I actually have a similar creative process for what I do because I feel like patience is not only key, but something that I actually take breaks during my process to maintain. What I mean by that is if I’m facing a unique situation or a complex problem, I will take a break from it when my head gets cloudy in order to revitalize my problem solving, or creative ideas. A break for me isn’t giving up, or setting things down for hours on end, unless that’s necessary, it can be as simple as taking 5 minutes to grab a glass of water, watch a quick video, grab a snack or get a breath of fresh air so I can come back to whatever I’m doing with a refreshed perspective and continue putting my best effort in. This allows me to persevere and that entire process, I believe involves patience, which is why I find that to be one of the three most important things in my creative process.

What helps you create your best work? Do you have creative must haves? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

