All · DIY - Give It A Try

Pretty Tissue Tassel Garland Made Easy – DIY

These Tissue Tassels could not be more cute or charming!

I made these tassels for a blank space in my bedroom and I can’t believe how much they add to the space. You could set them up for a shower, reception, birthday or even a window valance!

OK these look cute and all but… they look complicated. How do I begin?

wp-1490571478239.jpg
First you need some Tissue Paper! And TRUST ME, I made this EASY!

(For viewing what I did, I’ll be showing you the process I used on white tissue paperΒ so you can easily see the folds and.)

Once you have a single sheet, fold the tissue paper in half like this:

wp-1490571478970.jpg
The first fold I made was “hamburger” rather than “hotdog” – I took the paper and folded the longest length in half.

From here, you want to cut 1/2 inch strips going vertically along the tissue paper but stopping about 1.5 – 2 inches from your fold (It doesn’t have to be exact!).

wp-1490571479066.jpg
Here’s what mine looked like once I began cutting the strips

Next step is to carefully unfold all of the sections you just cut.

wp-1490571479356.jpg
Once your cut sections are separated, it should look something like this.

Next, you TUCK AND ROLL!!! (just kidding, but it’s almost like that!)

wp-1490571479366.jpg
I began by folding my paper in half a few times – Make sure to keep the tassels facing out to either side so they can lay nicely.
wp-1490571479385.jpg
Once I had folded the paper about 3 or 4 times I began to roll my tassel as tightly as possible.
wp-1490571479779.jpg
Once it’s all rolled up – Twist the center from one end of the tassel edges to the other.
wp-1490571479555.jpg
As you’re twisting the center – keep the twists tight and make a loop so all the tassel pieces are facing the same direction.

(You’ll see in my photo ^^Β I took one of the tassel strands and pulled it out to the side)

wp-1490571479914.jpg
PRO TIP: for a cleaner finish, you can take one of the strands and wrap it just below the loop, right where the tassel strands meet the loop.

Now you’re DONE!

wp-1490571478910-e1490645034999.jpg
Time to make more in any color/pattern you’d like!
wp-1490571478224.jpg
Once you’ve got all the tassels made…. you can string them up!

I used baker’s string and spaced them out about 8 inches apart on my line.

wp-1490571478207.jpg
Now you can hang them wherever you like!

Now it’s your turn! πŸŽ‰

Let me know how it goes! I hope you have fun brightening up your space or adding some pizazz to party dΓ©cor!

Leave a Reply

