All · Fine Art

DIY Photography in Fog | Simplifying Fog Photography through Trial & Error

Have you ever tried taking a photo on a foggy day? It’s harder than it seems, but the result, if you can get it in focus with contrast can be eerily mesmerizing.

I tried taking some fog photos this past weekend. Here’s what I found during my trial and error – so you can learn from my mistakes.

DSC_0581 SignedWhen I’m trying to get a quick shot, I sometimes use an autofocus option – when shooting in the fog I found that my best shots came out when in manual focus.  I updated my camera to an auto light sensor setting, so I wouldn’t have to worry about my exposure, but used a manual focus. It seemed like the fog played with my camera’s ability to automatically focus on what I wanted it to focus on.

DSC_0585 SignedWhile I was futzing with my automatic settings, my flash accidentally went off for a picture. Although this gave a more antiqued and faded look to my photo (you can get a similar effect with some “fade” edits, it wasn’t the effect I was going for. I found that using automatic light sensors or even playing with manual light focus so that I control the exposure and aperture and abstaining from flash allowed the greatest amount of contrast from the foreground and background. 

DSC_0579 SignedI was taking my photos as a passenger in a motor vehicle. There were times where I was able to get out and grab a photo or two, but I feel like it’s important to mention because motion in photos can be compelling or hindering. I find that I like snapping some photos while I’m walking rather than standing still for a few minutes to get a single shot, depending on what kind of photo I’m taking – one for me or one to share. While in the fog I discovered that minimizing motion and being as still as possible allowed for the most crisp and least distracting image.

Photography in Fog

Don’t Forget ^^ to pin & share now to come back later!

Let me know what tricks you use to get your best images in the fog or other weather conditions! Remember to share with me on social media! #lizzyslandscapes

One thought on “DIY Photography in Fog | Simplifying Fog Photography through Trial & Error

Leave a comment